Master Lock printer-friendly logo

ANSI/BHMA Grading System

The ANSI/BHMA industry standards exist to help identify the quality and durability of locksets via a series of operational and security tests. Following is a guide to how the standards are set. BHMA (Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association( is accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), a private non–profit organization that administers and coordinates the voluntary standardization to develop and maintain performance standards for builder’s hardware. ANSI/BHMA standards set forth different product grades for door hardware products. These product grades are defined by progressive levels of performance benchmarks in each applicable standard.

So what does this mean to me?

  • Grade 3 Good: Residential Security
  • Grade 2 Better: Light Commercial and Heavy Residential
  • Grade 1 Best: Heavy Commercial Use

Each grade specifies minimum acceptable requirements for:

  • Operation i.e.: key torque; cycles
  • Security i.e.: pull strength, impact resistance finish
Performance Gauge

Get The Latest News


Please send me information on new product offerings, promotions and news from Master Lock Company.

Sign Up